Discovering my ‘GlowinGal’ during the ‘Delighting Moments’

p1 On the Eve:

I am back from work and ‘Mr Coolhead’ handed over an envelope. It was an invitation card to attend a function ‘Delighting Moments’ at my daughter’s school. I was delighted but at the same time, it made be nervous. This is going to be her ‘first stage performance’, I am not sure what she’ll do and I am more worried about her reaction after seeing her parents in the audience. I am trying to assure myself by seeing her rehearsals, time and again, and she is doing a great job (actually she is doing a kind of remix). I don’t have a clue, ‘what is she performing tomorrow, in particular?’

Tonight:

We have been asked to spare our precious time from 11.00 am to 1.00 pm tomorrow therefore, I am thinking to take an off from work. As soon as I revealed the news to ‘Mr Coolhead’, he immediately took leave from his daily house responsibilities and is enjoying TV leisurely. Isn’t it great? (Man will always be man). After making the dinner, I am getting her dress ready for tomorrow with matching accessories and mine as well.

In the Morning:

It’s really cold and foggy outside, with little visibility and I am not getting up early, reason you already know.

Honey will you make some tea?” I shoved ‘Mr Coolhead’.

He got up without a murmur! I am surprised.

After sipping the freshness in, it is time for the princess to get ready. Well, I seldom get this opportunity so I whole-heartedly indulged myself in her service and it was an honor, I admit. Sometime these kids give you the best rewards on earth, which are beyond words.

After sending her to school, it was ‘Mr Coolhead’ who also headed towards his work leaving me alone with my stuff and expecting me to get ready on time (which rarely happens) and this is my ‘first appearance’ as a parent for the ‘very first stage performance’ of my child. She is just three years of age. I am bewildered what to wear according to occasion as I have to look good aptly?

In the Evening:

Because I took much time getting ready; we were late but thankfully function hadn’t begun yet and my dream of occupying the front seat was attainable. Imagine… we were the last to reach the spot and the gates opened just on us and there we were, sitting in the first row, just in front of the stage. Yahoo! I was more than happy.

To my amazement the management called the ‘parents’ upon the stage to kindle the lamp as an auspicious sign to commence the program. Among all the parents, I was one (of two), on the stage holding candle and being photographed; all time spent on getting ready, is remunerated. Ha Ha…

The colorful, cute and vibrant performances of the little buds were on track. I was desperate for ‘THE’ moment. In between, it was game-time. Guess who was again on the stage? Yeah, yeah, you guessed it right; again it was I and my ‘Mr Coolhead’. We were supposed to participate in a quiz about ‘Diwali’. Really! Honestly I am a shame when it comes to traditions. I spent a good amount of my life-time away from home and now post-marriage too, we are on our own. So culture and customs are not among my flavors! (But if you please, I shall participate).

The mommy dear in the competitor team was little (actually a lot) arrogant, Ahem! She didn’t responded back to my smile. However, she had vast knowledge of our customs and answered many questions which I don’t think I had even heard before! I was asked for how many days ‘Diwali’ is celebrated according to ‘Hindu’ culture.

Initially, I was prompted to say ‘one’ but a thought crossed my mind, “why would someone ask such an easy and obvious question?” Therefore using some common sense, I said ‘two’ instead.

And I was wrong. It never occurred to me that we ‘Indian’ celebrate ‘Diwali’ for five long days! What kind of ‘Indian’ am I? But is it my fault? I have always seen it being celebrated for two days, max. Here, for the first time, I saw people pushing the buzzer first and asking to repeat the question after that and then giving a wrong answer on first attempt just to correct it again and eventually get the credit! Who on earth does that? I have seen and conducted many quizzes, trust me!

Finally they won. But don’t think we lost, Bravo!  (We got a token of appreciation, same as the winners :)) and enjoyed every bit of this one sided game (it was a fun in itself to object to every act of biasness). For a moment I forgot, I was a parent there ;).

Then came ‘The Moment’ I have been waiting for, keenly; my little cutie made her ‘appearance’ and she was a treat for the eyes; smiling and all confident (to a mother’s pride). She performed really well, danced without any assistance (OMG, she remembered every step). There were kids who would stand still seeing the camera or the crowd and would forget to move but my princess even managed to utter the song along; she really acted and danced like a ‘Rock-Star’. I could see ‘Mr Coolhead’ already feeling like a proud ‘DAD’ and his chest kept widening with every passing moment :).

These delighting moments came to an end but they will always stay with us and keep delighting us forever and ever….

Amid this entire razzmatazz, I discovered something, I discovered my live ‘AlpenGlow’…right in front of me…my golden glowing daughter and Today, it’s a historical moment as I am giving her a blog name, “GlowinGal”. She always makes me realize many things I have taken for-granted as a daughter and thereby gives me a boost to act accordingly. She is the one who keeps testing my patience and teaching me lessons of courage and forbearance. But the very next moment she compensates for the hardships with her angelic smile, an affectionate hug and divine kiss. From her I have learned to hang-on and wait for that inevitable blissful moment to arrive; there’s a belief that it’s somewhere around the corner and no matter what it will definitely come.

“Sweetheart you will always see me there for you…cheering you up…It’s Mamma’s promise.

But for now, I am in dire need to brush up my knowledge of the diverse culture of country. Who knows when there’s again a chance to prove me truly ‘being Indian’…and I may stand a chance to come out as a Winner ;).

0.

About Mann

In A World That Pretends To Be Over-Complex, Here Is A Woman Trying To Remain SIMPLE and ORIGINAL while Sharing Her THOUGHTS, and Expressing Her EMOTIONS. :)

Posted on November 8, 2015, in Humour, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. The photo of you and your girl is super adorable!! You should print it out and frame it up.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I completely agree with Kally. You both look great.
    Great post. It reminds me of the programs that my own children we in when they were in school. Cherish the moments when they are young because the time goes so fast.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ok that was the reason for keeping yourself beyond visibility dimensions. God bless the little one and wish you many more such moments of pride n satisfaction 🍰 For the little one

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A good start to re-live the school times with the Mom and the Daughter…really Delighting moments…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

